RSS Feed

Autumn Activities

What a stunning start to Autumn! Unfortunately after a fabulous show at Yarndale I have been poorly. Really hit for six. Sniffling and dribbling and unable to swallow, totally miserable in fact. AND totally drained of energy or motivation.

However, today I took the dogs for a lovely stroll round the valley. We picked Sloes for gin and Blackberries for crumbles. We came back with 2 gorgeous bags full.

 DSCN0815

I then picked the Crabapples from my tree plus the Rowan berries along with some herbs I have in the garden. I collected some Quince from my neighbour and started some fruit jellies. The colours are gorgeous and are equally matched with the glorious smells coming from my kitchen. Warm Autumn comforting smells………..

 DSCN0812

I always love making jellies and make some each year. I have learnt that the hedgerow ones are the richest in colour and taste. I experiment with the brewing up stage and add all sorts of things to give the jellies a depth in taste and colour which reflects the time of year in which the fruits were collected.

Tomorrow the jellies will be drained and set and I hope for a row of fabulous coloured jars and a cottage full of Autumn smells.

Yarndale was an amazing show. Yorkshire is stunningly beautiful and the folk up there are so incredibly friendly and warm. I was inspired. Three of the dogs came too and had beautiful walks with brand new smells and LOTS of water!!

 DSCN0765 DSCN0797 DSCN0806 DSCN0803

 Of course I have also been spinning – my friend’s Wensleydale cross Kerry:

DSCN0819

Everyone is glad to be home, some more than others!

DSCN0817

Leave a Reply

